3 Comments

OK, Sadie-Rae, now I've really got an example for you of some strange comment someone has made to me about the Holocaust - comparing it to the Covid-19 vaccine... I wrote about it on my substack here and just published it: https://godofthedesert.substack.com/p/the-deep-depths-of-ideological-depravity Oh was I ever disgusted and angered as you'll see in my embedded tweets to him...

Expand full comment
author

We received a leaflet in our mailbox last year making similar comparisons between Covid-19 vaccines and the Holocaust. That seems to have been a running theme among a lot of those opposing vaccines. It really shows the level of Holocaust minimization and lack of understanding that is out there.

Expand full comment

This op/ed that I selected to be published at Algemeiner yesterday comes to mind: https://www.algemeiner.com/2023/01/22/the-rampant-use-and-abuse-of-the-holocaust-analogy/

I think something growing more and more common is Holocaust trivialization. It is so normal now in our political discourse to compare someone to Hitler or Nazi policies or Nazi entities. It's just the go-to comparison now for so many people that they reach for when they want to complain about something that is nowhere near as significant as the Holocaust and the Nazis.

Expand full comment